County of Greensville, Virginia

Tax Due Dates

Commissioner of the Revenue

1781 Greensville County Circle
Room 132
Emporia, Virginia 23847
Phone: (434) 348-4227 or (434) 348-4209
Fax: (434) 348-3189
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Hours

Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Staff

Martha S. Swenson, Master Commissioner of Revenue

Tax Deadlines Summary

Business License
March 1

Personal Property Filing
May 1

State Income Taxes
May 1

Estimated Taxes
May 1

Real Estate Tax
December 5

Personal Property Tax
December 5

Food and Beverage Tax
20th day of the month following the month of collection

Transit Lodging Room Rental Tax
Last day of the month following the month of collection

Credit Applications
Mailed out September 1
Due November 1


Staff

Outlined below are important tax deadlines as well as information about late fees/penalties.

Real Estate

Real estate taxes are due to be paid on or before December 5.

Personal Property

Personal property filing deadline is May 1.

Personal property taxes are due to be paid on or before December 5.

Income Taxes

State income taxes due on or before May 1.

Estimated taxes are due on or before May 1.

Business, Professional, Occupational License

Business license tax payment is due on or before March 1.

There shall be a penalty of 10%, with a minimum of three dollars, added to all license taxes that are unpaid on the due date of each license year, or in the case of any person first engaging in a business, profession, trade or occupation, a period of more than 30 days after they engage in such business, profession, trade or occupation. In addition to such 10% penalty, interest at the rate of 8% per annum shall accrue and be added to all due and unpaid license taxes beginning March 1 of each license year. Taxes and penalty herein provided shall be assessed and collected in the manner provided by law for the enforcement of the collection of other taxes.

Food and Beverage Tax

4% food and beverage tax is reported and submitted by the 20th day of the month following the month of collection.

A penalty of 10% plus interest as required by the State Tax Code is imposed if not paid by the due date.

Transit Lodging Room Rental Tax

2% transit lodging room rental tax must be reported and submitted by the last day of the month following the month of collection.

A penalty of 5% for each month of delinquency (not to exceed 25% in the aggregate) provided, however, that in no case shall the penalty be less than $10.00 and such minimum penalty shall apply whether or not any tax is due for the period for which such return is required. In addition, there shall be added to such unpaid tax interest at the rate of 8% per annum on the amount of tax delinquent, such interest to commence on the first day of the month following the month in which such taxes are due.

Tax Credit Programs (Exemptions, Relief Programs for Personal Property, Real Estate, Et Cetera)

All credit applications must be filled out and brought into the Commissioner of the Revenue's Office with proper documentation to be qualified for the credit. The credit applications will be mailed out September 1 and are due to be in the Commissioner's office on or before November 1. Any applications received after the due date will not be accepted.

Back to top